I Don’t Miss Writing

I wrote this last night, a couple hours after the girls went to sleep and I couldn’t find anything worthwhile on TV.


I don’t miss all that empty space I used to have that I filled with lazy work. But now that the space is so full of pre-bedtime ice cream runs, perfecting a manageable four person, no leftover spaghetti and meatball recipe, and a new influx dueling early-morning leaping wake up calls, I just don’t have the space to write like I used to.

Maybe it’s because there is such a clarity about my present life. I know exactly what it is I am to be about. Be a good dad and husband, make dinner more than ordering delivery, and maintain the watering schedule of the houseplants.

Maybe it’s because I’m satisfied with the work I’ve done, and I don’t feel beholden to produce something else as a kind of proof of worth and quality. And maybe it’s because I’m just happy and today was a good day.

It’s good to have a simpler life that gets filled up with all the chaotic good than having a complicated and ambitiously driven one that always feels empty.

Mary fell asleep before she could eat her banana ice cream, and now I have the work ahead of me to just not eat it. Haven got a chocolate shake, and I’m not terribly tempted by it. Lisa got a sprite, so I’m good there.

I’m a happy poppa…

Mary and me walking in the rain under her rainbow umbrella.
Lisa picking flowers that were later discover to be incredibly toxic and potentially fatal to small children.
She’s becoming so brilliantly smart. She hears everything that’s said.

Leave a comment